User Accounts: Viewers, Analysts, and Admins

Eric Dosal -

 Types of User Licenses  

There are 3 types of roles within BrightGauge: Viewers, Admins & Analysts.

Viewers are free and available with any subscription.

Admins are based on your plan: the Standard comes with 1 Admin User License while the Advanced Plan comes with 3 Admin User Licenses.

Analysts are only available in the Advanced Plan as part of the User Permission feature.

Screen_Shot_2015-05-14_at_5.23.49_AM.png

For a bit more detail on the use case of each...

Viewer - A Viewer is a user (with credentials to log into the BrightGauge app) that has read-only access to Dashboards and/or Scorecards that are shared with them; perfect for your teammates that do not need access to the Gauge Builder and your clients.  (**Note: Not to be confused with "Client Recipients."  For more information on Client Recipients please refer to this article.)  Every BrightGauge subscription has unlimited Viewer Licenses. These users also show up in the list to send reports to directly.

Admins - An Admin has complete access to the BrightGauge platform to create datasets, gauges, dashboards, and reports.  Admins can also manage the permissions of Analysts in our Advanced Plan.  Each plan comes with different Admin User licenses which you can learn more about here: BrightGauge Pricing

Analyst - An Analyst is an Admin license with reduced rights. They have access to build gauges and reports, using the datasources and datasets configured by an Admin on the account. Please note that they can also view existing dashboards that are shared with them, but not reports. They can only view reports/templates that they create.

Analyst licenses are currently only available as part of our Advanced Plan under the “User Permissions” feature.

 

 

   

 

Inviting Admin & Analyst Users

Step 1 - Once logged into BrightGauge, select the green arrow next to your username on the top righthand corner of the window and then select "Users" from the dropdown menu.

 

Step 2 - Once on the "Users" page, you will see a list of all current users for your account.  Select the blue "Invite User" button towards the top right of the screen.

 

Step 3 - Once on the "Invite A User" page, please fill out the first three corresponding text boxes with the user's First Name, Last Name, and Email Address.

Step 4 - Using the "Role" drop down menu, select whether this user will be an Administrator or Analyst.
(To learn the difference between the two users roles please refer to this section.)

Step 5 - If choosing Analyst, use the checkboxes to select which datasets this "Analyst" user will have access to.  If choosing Administrator, please skip this step and continue to Step 6.

Step 6 - Type desired message to be included in the invitation email to the user.  Once all fields have been completed correctly, select the blue "Send Invitation" button towards the bottom of the page. The user will then receive an email invitation with a username, temporary password, and sign-in domain.  Upon first signing in, the user will be prompted to create his/her own password.

 

Adding an additional user license:

Please note that if you have reached your limit of user licenses, a notification will appear upon clicking on "Send Invitation" for you to accept the additional charges that will apply. (Please see below)

 

   

 

Editing/Deleting Admin & Analyst Users

Step 1 - Once logged into BrightGauge, select the green arrow next to your username on the top righthand corner of the window and then select "Users" from the dropdown menu.

 

Step 2 - Once on the "Users" page, you will see a list of all current users for your account.

To "Edit" a user, select the blue pencil icon towards the right of the users row.
(After clicking pencil icon, please refer to Step 3.)

To "Delete" a user, select the blue "X" icon towards the right of the users row.
(After clicking on "X" icon, please skip Step 3 and refer to to Step 4.)

Step 3 - Once on the "Edit User" page, please make desired changes to the corresponding text boxes for the users First Name, Last Name, and Email Address.  If changing the users "Role" from Administrator to Analyst, please refer to this section.  Once all necessary changes have been made, select the blue "Save" button towards the bottom of the page.  (Please ignore Step 4 if not deleting a user.)

Step 4 - After selecting the blue "X" icon, the message below will appear. Select the "Delete" button to permanently delete the user.  Please make note that this action CANNOT BE UNDONE.  (Gauges, Report Templates, Scheduled Reports, and Dashboards created by the user will remain on the account.  Please make note that Dashboards will need to be shared with another user prior to deleting the user who created them. The user will also remain as the owner scheduled reports, until another user re-schedules them.)

 

 

Removing an additional user license:

If the deleting the specified user reduces your monthly charges, a notification will appear upon clicking "Delete" for you to accept the billing changes.

 

 

   

 

Inviting Viewer Users

Step 1 - Once logged into BrightGauge, select the green arrow next to your username on the top righthand corner of the window and then select "Users" from the dropdown menu.

 

Step 2 - Once on the "Users" page, select "Viewers" from the menu on left hand side of the page.

Step 3 - Once on the "Viewers" page, you will see a list of all current "Viewer" users for your account.  Select the blue "Invite Viewer" button towards the top right of the screen.

Step 4 - Once on the "Invite A Viewer" page, please fill out the corresponding text boxes with the users First Name, Last Name, and Email Address, along with a desired message to be included in the invitation email to the user.  Once all fields have been completed correctly, select the blue "Send Invitation" button towards the bottom of the page.

Step 5 - The user will now receive an email invitation with a username, temporary password and sign-in domain.  Upon first signing in, the user will be prompted to create his/her own password.

Step 6 - Once the "Viewer" has been created, he/she will be able to receive sent reports and view shared dashboards.

For information on how to add recipients to a report, please refer to this article.

For information on how to share dashboards, please refer to this article.

 

 

   

 

Editing/Deleting Viewer Users

Step 1 - Once logged into BrightGauge, select the green arrow next to your username on the top righthand corner of the window and then select "Users" from the dropdown menu.

 

Step 2 - Once on the "Users" page, select "Viewers" from the menu on left hand side of the page.

Step 3 - Once on the "Viewers" page, you will see a list of all current "Viewer" users for your account.

To "Edit" a viewer, select the blue pencil icon towards the right of the users row.
(After clicking pencil icon, please refer to Step 4.)

To "Delete" a viewer, select the blue "X" icon towards the right of the users row.
(After clicking on "X" icon, please skip Step 4 and refer to to Step 5.)

Step 4 - Once on the "Edit Viewer" page, please make desired changes to the corresponding text boxes for the users First Name, Last Name, and Email Address.  Once all necessary changes have been made, select the blue "Save" button towards the bottom of the page.  (Please ignore Step 5 if not deleting a user.)

Step 5 - After selecting the blue "X" icon, the message below will appear.  Select the "Delete" button to permanently delete the user.  Please make note that this action CANNOT BE UNDONE. 

 

 

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Powered by Zendesk