Connecting To Autotask Professional Services Automation (PSA)

Step 1 - Log in to your BrightGauge Account  

Image_2018-07-12_at_2.21.32_PM.png

If you have not created an account yet, go here to get started. If you are logged in with a New Account, click on the "Add a Datasource" button:

If you are logged in with an Existing Account, click on the "Data" menu on the the top righthand corner of the screen and select "Datasources" from the drop down menu:

From either a new or an existing account, click on “Add a New Datasource” and then click on the icon for the datasource you wish to connect.

 

Step 2 - Configure the Datasource

Image_2018-08-31_at_1.40.01_PM.png

Fill out the form with the following fields:

  • Name: Choose a name for your datasource. For example, Autotask PSA.
  • Autotask Username and Autotask Password: Enter the username and password for an Autotask user that meets the following requirements:
    • The Autotask user has an API User (API-Only) security level. This security level is strongly recommended. It provides full system administration access to PSA modules, features and the data available via Autotask's Web Services API.  It does all of this while limiting access to the Autotask UI itself.
    • The Autotask user is assigned an API Tracking Identifier set to "BrightGauge Software - BrightGauge". Tracking identifiers are assigned on the Security tab of the API-only user's Resource Management page when adding a new API-only user, or editing an API-only user that does not yet have an identifier assigned. Select the "BrightGauge Software - BrightGauge" under the Integration Vendor menu.

      • Image_2019-05-06_at_2.19.47_PM.png

  • Deep Linking (optional): If you would like to utilize deep linking, input your Autotask URL. For more information on deep linking, check out the information provided here.

 

Step 3 - Test Connection

After filling out all of the fields, test the connection to the datasource by clicking Test Connection. If successful, you will see a green banner stating the test succeeded. Save the datasource by clicking Save.

Image_2018-08-31_at_1.41.57_PM.png

Please note, a common issue we have seen clients experience is with the "AutoFill" feature in web browsers inputting the wrong credentials for the username field. When a test connection is successful, the page is refreshed and the autofill takes effect automatically without the user realizing. The user then selects save, accidentally saving the autofilled credentials which are incorrect. A way to prevent this issue is to open a private browsing window (or incognito window) to fill out the datasource configuration page, or simply retyping the credentials after the test connection and clicking "Save".

Dashboards, reports, datasets, and gauges will be added to your account after the datasource is saved. They will start syncing immediately and typically complete syncing after 20-30 minutes. 

 

If you have any questions, don't hesitate to ask us at support@brightgauge.com

 

Was this article helpful?
1 out of 1 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments