FAQ: Sharing Report Templates with Analysts

Overview

This article provides answers to frequently asked questions about shared report templates for Analyst users.

 

What are Analyst shared report templates? 

Admin users can share report templates similar to how they share dashboards and default dashboards. This means as an Admin user, you can now share the custom report templates you build with an Analyst user.  

 

What are the benefits of sharing report templates with Analysts? 

Sharing report templates with Analysts allows for granular user permissions by enabling Analyst users to utilize report templates created by other users. This saves time for both Admins and Analysts and allows for quicker report setup. Analysts can currently create reports but are not able to share them with each other, so Admins can now share the templates other Analysts have built. Analysts cannot see these available templates today. 

  

How can Admins share report templates? 

To share report templates with an existing Analyst:

  1. Navigate to Your AccountUsers.
  2. Select the Analyst user from the list.
  3. Select the checkbox for each report template you would like to share. Please note that Admins must also grant access to the corresponding datasets. If the Analyst is granted access to the proper datasets, they will not be able to see all data in the report.
  4. Click Save.

To share report templates with a new Analyst:

  1. Navigate to Your AccountUsers.
  2. Click Invite User.
  3. Enter the user's name and email.
  4. Select Analyst from the Role drop-down.
  5. Select the checkbox for each report template you would like to share. Please note that Admins must also grant access to the corresponding datasets. If the Analyst is granted access to the proper datasets, they will not be able to see all data in the report.
  6. Click Save.

Analysts may view their reports by clicking Reports in the top menu bar.

 

Can Analyst users edit or delete report templates that are shared with them?  

No, Analyst users cannot edit or delete report templates that are shared with them. They can only edit or delete report templates that they create. They can, however, create a copy of a shared report template by saving it as a new template. 

 

How can partners reach the BrightGauge Support team with any questions on this report? 

If you have any further questions, please reach our team at support@brightgauge.com or online on our Support page. 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments